Read time: 3 minutes

Cast your vote for 2016 IT Personality, Visionary CIO

The top 10 finalists have been announced and the voting is now open for IITPSA's 2016 IT Personality and Visionary CIO awards.

The prestigious annual accolades are presented by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science and Gartner Africa.

This year marks the 38th IT Personality of the Year Award, which recognises an individual who has made a positive impact on the South African IT industry and a significant contribution to the IT profession in the past year.

The finalists have been chosen from a large number of nominations received from the IT community, ITWeb readers and the public.

The top 10 IT Personality finalists for 2016 are:

* Brandon Bekker, MD, Mimecast * Carel Du Toit, MD, Mint Management Technologies * Damian Michael, CEO, Innovo Networks * Edward Lawrence, director, Workonline Communications * Elizabeth Gould, co-founder and CEO, codex * Lee Naik, MD, Accenture Digital SA * Luvuyo Rani, MD, Silulo Ulutho Technologies * Marius Coetzee, CEO, Ideco * Sbu Shabalala, CEO, Adapt IT * Zoaib Hoosen, MD, Microsoft SA

2016 is the ninth year the Visionary CIO Award is being presented. It recognises an executive who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in using technology to support and grow business.

The Top 10 Visionary CIO finalists are:

* Ashley Veasey, group CIO, Barclays Africa (Absa) * Brenda Niehaus, group CIO, Standard Bank * Jamie Whittaker, chief digital officer, Discovery Holdings * Len de Villiers, CIO, Telkom * Libisi Maphanga, CIO, Independent Electoral Commission * Peter Alkema, CIO, FNB Business Banking * Ridwaan Bardien, CIO, SANBS * Sean Maritz, CIO, Eskom Holdings * Thagaran Govender, CIO, Mercantile Bank * Travis Dewing, CIO, Netcare

The next stage in the process is the selection of the winners - taking into account in-depth interviews by the judging panel and votes from the public.

The winners will be announced at the exclusive IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event, on 24 November, at the Montecasino Ballroom.

Each member of the public is allowed to vote only once in each of the two categories.

Cast your vote by 7 October 2016 by visiting: