Read time: 3 minutes

Who are IT's top achievers?

ITWeb is calling for nominations for the IT Personality of the Year and Visionary CIO awards.

2010 marks the 32nd IT Personality of the Year Award. It recognises a personality who has made an exceptional contribution to the industry in the past year and is presented by the Computer Society of SA (CSSA) in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) and Gartner Africa.

The Visionary CIO Award aims to recognise a personality on the other side of the IT vendor and service provider sector - an executive in the IT user environment who has demonstrated foresight and leadership in using technology to support and grow business.

Last year's IT Personality was Ivan Epstein, CEO of accounting software firm Softline.

Carl Louw, head of Internet Channel at Absa, won the Visionary CIO award for 2009.

Both Epstein and Louw will join the panel of judges for this year's awards.

The winners will be announced at the CSSA Annual President's Awards event in November.

Have your say and nominate your favourite candidates by clicking here.


ITWeb is South Africa's leading technology-focused publisher, with media products and services that span online, print and events. ITWeb online reaches over 80 000 readers a month and services a large client base through its Virtual Press Office offering. ITWeb's print titles include Brainstorm, iWeek and a series of ITWeb Informatica reference books.