Read time: 3 minutes

IT Personality, Visionary CIO top 10 shortlists revealed

Have your say, vote online before 21 September.

The search for the 2015 IT Personality and Visionary CIO has reached the second round. Top 10 shortlists for both categories have been selected from a great number of nominations received from the IT community, ITWeb readers and the public.

The prestigious awards are presented by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science and Gartner Africa.

We need your vote

The next stage in the process is the selection of the top five finalists in each category, taking into account the results of public voting. Each member of the public is allowed to vote only once in each of the two categories.

Cast your vote by 15 September!

Top 10: IT Personality

The 2015 IT Personality shortlist, in alphabetical order of surname:

Brandon Bekker MD of Mimecast SA

Carel du Toit MD of Mint Management Technologies

Alan Knott-Craig CEO of Project Isizwe

Barbara Mallinson Founder and CEO of Obami

Koketso Moeti Co-founder and campaigner at

Greg Reis Founder of BSG

Niel Schoeman Founder and CEO of Vumatel

Lorraine Steyn CEO and founder of Khanyisa Real Systems

Lex van Wyk Founder of Teraco

Derek Wilcocks CEO Middle East & Africa at Dimension Data

The IT Personality of the Year Award is now in its 37th year. It recognises a person who has made an outstanding impact on the South African ICT industry over the past year and a significant contribution to the IT profession.

Past winners include IT industry notables, including the 2014 winner, Gian Visser, CEO of Afrihost. Previous years saw Alan Knott-Craig Sr, Andile Ngcaba, Aleta Ling, Mark Shuttleworth, Ivan Epstein, Mardia van der Walt Korsten, Asher Bohbot and Rob Stokes all scooping the coveted title.

Top 10: Visionary CIO

The 2015 Visionary CIO shortlist, in alphabetical order of surname:

Tim Brown CIO of Stanlib

James Devine CIIO of Project Isizwe

Peter du Plooy CIO of Engen Petroleum

Thagaran Govender CIO of Mercantile Bank

Antony Hlungwane Group IT director of Mr Price

Thabo Ndlela Group CIO of Tiger Brands

Willie Oosthuysen Group executive: technology and strategy of Altron group

Lungi Sangqu Executive director ICT of UNISA

Brandon Stafford CIO of FNB Fiduciary

Louise van der Bank CIO of AfriSam

Now in its seventh year, the Visionary CIO Award recognises executives who have demonstrated visionary leadership in using technology to support and drive their companies to be more innovative and strategic.

Past winners include last year's winner, Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga, CIO of the Financial Services Board. Previous winners include Sal Laher, Rabelani Dagada, Carl Louw, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie, and Sello Mmakau.

FOLLOW THIS LINK to cast your vote by 21 September.


ITWeb is South Africa's leading technology-focused publisher, with media products and services that span online, print and events.

ITWeb's online platforms reach over 200 000 unique readers a month and service a large client base through its Virtual Press Office offering. Its Web site at is recognised as the most trusted voice in South African business IT sector and is the first port of call for an audience that ranges from technology professionals to CEOs.

ITWeb's Brainstorm magazine is South Africa's most influential business IT monthly, reaching 12 000 executives and decision-makers with its in-depth, issue-driven "big picture" stories in business technology.

The ITWeb Events division extends ITWeb's content value proposition by delivering events such as BI Summit and IT Security Summit that are relevant, well-timed and address a real business need. /
Follow "ITWeb" on Facebook and Twitter


IITPSA (Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa), formerly Computer Society South Africa (CSSA), is a professional body, recognised by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA), with a 55-year history of service to, and representation of, South Africa's ICT professionals and practitioners, attracting a broad and active membership from all levels of the ICT Industry.

IITPSA's aims are to further the study, science and application of ICTs; maintain and promote codes of conduct and ethics for its members; define and promote standards of ICT knowledge; promote the formulation of effective policies on ICT and related matters; and extend the knowledge, understanding and usage of ICTs in the community. This is achieved by engagement with both industry and government on ICT policy, regulations and professional activities, combined with a commitment to the wider community to ensure the beneficial use of ICT.