Read time: 3 minutes

IT Personality, Visionary CIO finalists named

The top five finalists for the 2014 IT Personality and Visionary CIO awards have been selected, as the South African IT industry's most prestigious awards near their final stage.

The awards are presented by the Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science and Gartner Africa.

The IT Personality 2014 finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

* Ahmed Ismael, director, Siyafunda Community Technology Centre* Alison Gillwald, director of Research ICT Africa* Bevan Ducasse, CEO, WiGroup* Gian Visser, CEO, Afrihost* JJ Milner, MD, Global Micro Solutions

The Visionary CIO 2014 finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

* Danny Naidoo, CIO, Woolworths* Darryl Thwaits, group CIO, Tiger Brands* Robert Boccia, CIO, Lion of Africa* Sandra Hutchison, CIO, Aon Corporation* Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga, CIO, Financial Services Board

Now in its 36th year, the IT Personality of the Year Award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding impact on the SA ICT industry over the past year and a significant contribution to the IT profession.

Past winners include IT industry notables Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Aleta Ling, Mark Shuttleworth, Ivan Epstein, Mardia van der Walt Korsten, Asher Bohbot and Rob Stokes. Last year, Mteto Nyati, then Microsoft SA MD, and Barry Dwolatzky, director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering, shared the title.

Running for the seventh year, the Visionary CIO Award recognises a CIO who has shown visionary leadership, and used IT to make their businesses more innovative and strategic. Past winners include Rabelani Dagada, Carl Louw, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie and Sello Mmakau. In 2013, Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom, won this prestigious accolade.

Through public voting and an adjudication panel, finalists for both categories have been selected from dozens of nominations received from the IT community, ITWeb readers and the public. The panel scrutinises each candidate, and selects the top five in each category, all of whom have made notable contributions to the South African ICT sector. The next stage in the selection process involves a face-to-face interview with each finalist by the judging panel.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event on 6 November, at the Montecasino Ballroom.


ITWeb is South Africa's leading technology-focused publisher, with media products and services that span online, print and events.

ITWeb's online platforms reach over 200 000 unique readers a month and service a large client base through its Virtual Press Office offering. Its Web site at is recognised as the most trusted voice in South African business IT sector and is the first port of call for an audience that ranges from technology professionals to CEOs.

ITWeb's Brainstorm magazine is South Africa's most influential business IT monthly, reaching 12 000 executives and decision-makers with its in-depth, issue-driven, "big picture" stories in business technology.

The ITWeb Events division extends ITWeb's content value proposition by delivering events such as BI Summit and ITWeb Security Summit that are relevant, well-timed and address a real business need. /
Follow "ITWeb" on Facebook and Twitter


IITPSA (Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa), formerly Computer Society South Africa (CSSA), is a professional body, recognised by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA), with a 55-year history of service to, and representation of, South Africa's ICT professionals and practitioners, attracting a broad and active membership from all levels of the ICT Industry.

IITPSA's aims are to further the study, science and application of ICTs; maintain and promote codes of conduct and ethics for its members; define and promote standards of ICT knowledge; promote the formulation of effective policies on ICT and related matters; and extend the knowledge and understanding and usage of ICTs in the community. This is achieved by engagement with both industry and government on ICT policy, regulations and professional activities, combined with a commitment to the wider community to ensure the beneficial use of ICT.