Read time: 3 minutes

Closing date for entries in the Women in ICT-Partnership for Change Awards looms near

The entries for nominations in the Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards close on Friday, 4 August 2017. This will be followed by the commencement of an adjudication process that will shortlist candidates in various categories.

This year marks the second edition of Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards, a joint initiative between Kagiso Media and ITWeb's Brainstorm. Nominations from eligible female professionals working in the information and communication technologies (ICT) sector were opened on 20th July.

This initiative seeks to accelerate women's participation in the ICT sector by celebrating and rewarding women professionals who have made a significant contribution to the growth and development of the sector. This initiative also aims to attract girl children and young aspirant female professionals to consider a profession in the industry and enhance the industry's employer value proposition.

Says Mapula Bodibe, Executive for Consumer Business Unit: MTN South Africa: "We are delighted and encouraged with the overwhelming response we have received from both the private and public sector and institutions of learning. What was equally impressive is the calibre and quality of nominations received which showed the depth of women talent in the ICT sector. We are looking forward to the adjudication process, which promises to become a daunting challenge for the judging panel."

The adjudication process will shortlist nominees in the following categories:

Leadership Recognition Award: recognises senior female executives in the ICT sector whose proven depth of experience in leading change, influencing business outcomes and leading teams has impacted positively on the organisations they lead.

Innovator Recognition Award: recognises women who have introduced new methods, ideas, or products that are contributing in one way or the other to the delivery of a bold, new, digital world.

SME Recognition Award: recognises wholly-owned, women-run enterprises that are viable businesses which are making inroads in the ICT sector, and will be extended to internal employees who also run businesses on the side, using ICT to enable their businesses.

Graduate Award (High Schools): recognises a top ICT graduate from a high school who finished top of their class. The award is open to females who graduated in the immediate year preceding the awards ceremony.

Graduate Award (Tertiary): recognises a top ICT graduate from a tertiary institution who finished top of their class. The award is open to females who graduated in the immediate year preceding the awards ceremony.

Community Builder Recognition Award: recognises a woman who has made a considerable difference in her community through ICT, or use of an ICT tool to make a difference in the community.

Lifetime Achiever Recognition Award (Women Pioneer): recognises a woman who has longstanding success in the ICT industry, has demonstrated a remarkable entrepreneurial spirit, and has continually stayed ahead of the curve.

Excellence in ICT Journalism Award: this category seeks to recognise a journalist who has contributed immensely to creating a better understanding of the ICT industry through reporting.

CEO's Award: this award recognises an MTN employee that has made a difference within the organisation with the use of ICT and Technology.

Ministerial Recognition Award: this category gives the minister the opportunity to use their discretion to nominate a female ICT professional whose contribution has helped to bridge the digital divide and facilitate access to telecommunication services.

This year, the Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards has introduced a new category known as: The Public Choice Award. This category gives members of the public the opportunity to nominate an outstanding female professional in the ICT sector using an SMS platform.

"We urge the public to use this window of opportunity before the closing date to send through nominations of candidates. Nominations can be submitted on before the end of the closing date," concludes Bodibe.


MTN Group

Launched in 1994, the MTN Group is a multinational telecommunications group, operating in 21 countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East. The MTN Group is listed on the JSE Securities Exchange in South Africa under the share code: "MTN".

As at the end of 30 June 2010, MTN recorded 129.2 million subscribers across its operations in Afghanistan, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iran, Liberia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), Rwanda, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Syria, Uganda, Yemen and Zambia. The MTN Group is a global sponsor of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa and has exclusive mobile content rights for Africa and the Middle East. Visit and