NWU Faculty of Health Sciences recognises excellence in research and innovation

Issued by North West University
Johannesburg, Dec 14, 2020

The North-West University’s (NWU’s) Faculty of Health Sciences hosted its first-ever Research and Innovation Awards ceremony on 18 November 2020 to recognise the efforts and achievements of its faculty members.

The faculty calculated the performance of researchers according to set criteria – not only calculating the number of outputs, but also including the impact factor of publications and the quality of the journals in which the output was published.

"A huge thank you to all faculty members who tried to keep the research outputs high during this challenging year,” said Prof Jeanetta du Plessis, deputy dean for research and innovation.

“Even if you are not an individual prize winner this year, you are all winners because you gave it your all. I am proud to be associated with the researchers in the Faculty of Health Sciences. I wish you all the best of luck for the last few weeks of this year and I pray that you will all be safe and have a peaceful Christmas time with your loved ones," she added.

It was with great pride that the following prizes were awarded:

National and international recognitions and memberships:

  • Prof Rose Hayeshi

Acknowledgement of 2019/2020 (1 January 2020) NRF re-ratings:

  • Newly rated: Prof Johanita Burger, Dr Zelda de Lange, Prof Ansie Fouche, Dr Linda Malan, Prof Anchen Mielmann and Prof Martinique Sparks
  • Graded to higher rating: Prof Hans de Ridder and Prof Johan du Plessis
  • Successfully re-rated: Prof Richard Haynes and Prof Gisella Terre’Blanche

Acknowledgement of research chairs and extramural units (announced in 2020):

  • Prof Marlien Pieters (newly appointed director of the MRC Extramural Unit for Hypertension and Cardiovascular Disease)

Most significant contribution to community-engaged research (in 2020):

  • Prof Martie Lubbe (for her project: Evaluation of a pharmacy grading system on good pharmacy practice compliance in South Africa)
  • Prof Marius Smuts (for his project: Eggcel-growth Study – Jouberton/Matlosana, Klerksdorp)
  • Prof Petra Bester (for her project: Impact during the Covid-19 pandemic)
  • Dr Elmien Truter (for her project: Creating a safe space for the social work child protection community in South Africa by developing the "The Cave" virtual platform with psycho-educational support to all social workers in this field)
  • Prof Pieter Kruger (for his project: NWU community's psychosocial well-being during the COVID-19 pandemic)
  • Prof Johan du Plessis (for his project: COVID-19: Creating a work environment that is safe for the worker, a work environment in which the spread of COVID-19 is prevented and minimised).

Recognition of the newly established research entities and upgraded research entities:

  • Occupational Hygiene and Health Research Initiative (OHHRI) (upgraded to research focus area)

Entity that made the most significant contribution to generation of external income (in 2019):

  • Winner source of fund 2: Hypertension in Africa Research Team (HART)
  • Winner source of funds 5: Centre of Excellence for Nutrition (CEN)

Most productive emerging researcher:

  • Winner: Prof Ruan Kruger
  • First runner-up: Prof Lusilda Schutte
  • Second runner-up: Prof Anja Franken

Most productive senior researcher:

  • Winner: Prof Marius Smuts
  • First runner-up: Prof Andries Monyeki
  • Second runner-up: Prof Carina Mels

Most sustainable productive researcher over a five-year period (2015–2019):

  • Winner: Prof Marius Smuts
  • First runner-up: Prof Salome Kruger
  • Second runner-up: Prof Andries Monyeki

Most productive research entity:

  • Winner: Centre of Excellence for Nutrition (CEN)
  • First runner-up: Hypertension in Africa Research Team (HART)
  • Second runner-up: Occupational Hygiene and Health Research Initiative (OHHRI)

Contact person: Louis Jacobs
Contact details: [email protected] / 018 299 4918