NWU applauds best-of-the best lecturers

Issued by North West University
North-West, Mar 15, 2019

The North-West University (NWU) celebrated its star lecturers during its Institutional Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony (ITEA). This annual event took place on 14 March at the Snowflake venue in Potchefstroom.

Prof Juanee Cilliers of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences and Prof Alfred Brunsdon of the Faculty of Theology walked away with the top awards, the coveted Distinguished Teaching Excellence Awards (DTEA).

Cilliers is the Head of the Urban and Regional Planning group at the NWU, as well as programme leader of research programme 7 for Sustainable Development, Planning and Implementation in the Unit for Environmental Sciences and Management. She is well known as the host of a weekly environmental radio programme, Omgewingspraatjies, on Radio Sonder Grense.

Brunsdon is Associate Professor, subject chair and subject programme leader in Practical Theology at the School of Christian Ministry and Leadership. His teaching philosophy rests mainly on the belief that the lecturer is responsible for creating a learning environment that is meaningful for the student in the open distance learning environment.

The awards are made to show appreciation to lecturers for their commitment and dedication to student success and also to encourage academics to develop in the field of teaching and learning as university teachers.

Awards were presented in three categories, namely the Emerging Teaching Excellence Award (ETEA), the Teaching Excellence Award (TEA) and the Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award (DTEA). This is the fifth year the awards have been given in these categories.

Thirty-six academics received awards. The Faculty of Health Sciences produced the most winners overall, with eight awards, followed by the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences and the Faculty of Humanities, with seven awards each.

What the different categories are about

The ETEA rewards emerging lecturers for excellent teaching. It recognises lecturers who display a long-term vision for their professional and career development by means of exceptional and proven achievement towards innovation in teaching and learning in their field.

The TEA is awarded to established lecturers who have exceptional and proven achievements in teaching excellence. They use innovative approaches to facilitate learning that inspires and challenges students.

The DTEA is a commendation within the TEA category. It endorses excellence and commends distinguished scholars for leadership and achievement in the scholarship of teaching and learning.

Participants in the awards must comply with at least 80% of the criteria in the individual categories. They must submit a reflective portfolio as evidence of their teaching and learning activities and teaching philosophy. There is also observation of at least two learning opportunities, one of which is unannounced.

TEA Award participants are also expected to make presentations at an annual campus or faculty colloquium on teaching and learning.

The reflective portfolios of DTEA winners are moderated internally and externally.

And the winners are...

Distinguished Teaching Excellence Awards

Prof Alfred Brunsdon, Faculty of TheologyProf Juanee Cilliers, Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences

Teaching Excellence Awards

Dr Johan Bosman, EngineeringProf Alfred Brunsdon, TheologyDr Joshua Chukwuere, Economic and Management SciencesProf Juanee Cilliers, Natural and Agricultural SciencesProf Ben Coetzee, Health SciencesDr Hanli de Beer, Health SciencesProf Elvis Fosso-Kankeu, EngineeringDr Anel Gildenhuys, LawDr Rianda Joubert, Health SciencesProf Henk Kloppers, LawDr Jan-Hendrik Kruger, EngineeringMr Francois Minnie, EducationDr Clarise Mostert, Economic and Management SciencesMs Irene Muller, EducationDr Marinda Neethling, EducationMs Marie Preston, Economic and Management SciencesMs Michelle Schoeman, LawDr Elzahne Simeon, Health SciencesDr Elmien Truter, Health SciencesDr Marie Ubbink, Health SciencesProf Elize van Eeden, HumanitiesDr Liandi van den Berg, Economic and Management SciencesMr Corne van der Merwe, Health SciencesDr Willem van Niekerk, EngineeringMs Suretha van Wyk, Economic and Management SciencesDr Tertia van Zyl, Health Sciences

Emerging Teaching Excellence Awards

Mr Hermann Bosch, EducationMs Nina Brink, HumanitiesMr Koos de Villiers, HumanitiesDr Rita Klonaridis, Economic and Management SciencesDr Bruno Letarte, Natural and Agricultural SciencesDr Heleneze Lues, Economic and Management SciencesMr Bright Molale, HumanitiesDr Mokgadi Molope, HumanitiesMr Phil Pretorius, HumanitiesMr Ninan Samuel, Humanities

Willie du Plessis: (082) 590 0692Corporate Communication, NWU