Minister appoints NWU alumnus to Eskom interim board of directors

Issued by North West University
Johannesburg, Jul 3, 2017

On 23 June 2017 the Minister of Public Enterprises, Lynne Brown, appointed Dr Pulane Molokwane, an alumnus of the North-West University's (NWU's) campus in Mahikeng, as a non-executive director to the interim board of Eskom.

"I believe the interim arrangements represent a new dawn at Eskom," Brown said during a press conference held to announce the new board appointees. "These individuals were chosen taking into consideration their immense contribution in their fields of interest. One such appointee expected to add value to the board is Dr Pulane Molokwane, who is registered with the Scientific Profession Council of South Africa as a professional natural scientist, and who is a specialist in environment and project management, nuclear fuel management, research, and water and waste management.".

Dr Molokwane's previous roles in the field of nuclear and environmental science include being an executive technical director for Quintessential Investment Holdings, serving as principal environmental specialist at Sasol and being a senior nuclear fuel design physicist at the Pebble Bed Modular Reactor (PBMR).

Currently, Dr Molokwane serves as founder and director of Oloenviron, a sustainable energy and environmental management advisory entity. She is also a non-executive director at the South African Forestry Company Limited, which forms part of the Department of Public Enterprises and is currently the third-largest state-owned forestry company in South Africa. She was appointed by President Jacob Zuma to serve as a commissioner in the National Planning Commission, an advisory body in the Presidency that advices government on cross-cutting issues that influence the long-term development of South Africa.

Dr Molokwane holds a PhD in chemical technology-environmental engineering from the University of Pretoria, an MSc in applied radiation sciences, a postgraduate diploma in applied radiation sciences and a BSc in physics, all from the North-West University.