Read time: 3 minutes

SA scores well at Softball World Series in Canada

The men's Softball World Series tournament was held in Canada from 7-16 July where 16 teams from around the globe competed in this prestigious annual tournament.

Teams included: Canada (tournament hosts), Argentina, Australia, Botswana, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Great Britain, Hong Kong, India, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, United States of America, Turkey and Venezuela.

New Zealand won the tournament, beating Australia in the finals. Canada was placed third.

South Africa was placed 10th which, in actual fact, is an astounding achievement for a young and inexperienced team; only four players in the team have had World Series' experience.

Even more impressive, is that eight of the 17-man South African team come from VUT! This is an incredible achievement for the institution.

The team looks forward to doing even better in next year's tournament. The future looks bright for these young, up-and-coming players.

Quote: "You must be the change you wish to see in the world," by Mahatma Gandhi.